Curious What Offline Blog Tools People Use

Thinking about starting to use an offline editor for posting, and curious what anyone can recommend. So far, I have seen mention of these in other posts:

But no strong recommendations either way… would appreciate recommendations both for and against various tools if anyone has them.

5 Responses to “Curious What Offline Blog Tools People Use”


  1. 1 Philip Hartman 5 May 2006 at 12:25 pm

    I’ve only used Blogger for Word. It shows up as a plugin on MS-Word. Its OK. Some of the MS-Word formatting doesn’t translate into HTML very well. But… its easy.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and putting a link to my post about SAP in del.icio.us. You helped a lot of new readers discover my blog for the first time. I hope you’ll visit again soon and hopefully I’ll have something else worth sharing by then.

  2. 2 brenda michelson 10 May 2006 at 8:27 am

    I’ve just started using Qumana. It’s good for basic posting, and has a clean connection with Typepad (my host). It doesn’t allow you to schedule posts for a later date, which is something I’d like. I haven’t been very successful with the “Drop pad” feature, but that could just be me. Another one to look at (but not free) is ecto. -brenda

  3. 3 scott 11 May 2006 at 6:45 am

    Philip – I forgot about the Word plug-in, thanks for the reminder. The very idea of Word and HTML scares me, but I should give it a try! Your SAP post was great – keep it coming.

    Brenda – Thanks for your comment! I didn’t know you were a reader – I have subscribed to you for awhile, and love your content. I’m going to be responding to your recent SOA post – that was great!

    Back on topic… my first Qumana post just went out and it was a catastrophe. The technorati tags got totally hosed, I had to go back to the file system to strip &ltfont> tags, and then somehow half my post disappeared when I published to Blogger. Yikes! I ended up re-doing the post through the Blogger editor. I don’t know if I’ll try it again. I had forgotten about ecto – I’ll give that a shot. Maybe I just need to forget the Blogger integration and just use a local editor!

  4. 4 Bill de hOra 31 May 2006 at 11:50 am

    Scott,

    I had Qumana down as revisit, and am still using w.bloggar. What I don’t like about w.blogar is that a) pulling down posts is clumsy, b) there doesn’t seem to be way to work on more than one at a time. I use the performancing plugin here and there.

    I think there’s an opportunity to write a solid blog/site editor; none of the current crop nail it. Naturally the free version would have an adbox in the UI 🙂

    http://www.dehora.net/journal/2006/04/software_tryouts.html

  5. 5 scott 31 May 2006 at 10:56 pm

    Bill – I think I downloaded w.bloggar but still haven’t tried that yet; I need to do that. I gave Qumana another try, and will probably still use that on occasion, but I share your distaste for the typeface. And maybe I’m asking for too much, but it’s bunk you can’t edit source through these tools IMHO. Maybe I really just need to stick with Ultraedit, or grab a copy of HomeSite or something…

    I would definitely deal with adware if it was just good!


Leave a Reply

Diabetic Runner Challenge – 500

Flickr Photos

Stop #2 on the Twin Cities Burger Tour:  The Blue Door!!  Blucy with beer battered green beans

Lake Washburn Campground

Water Lilies on Lake Washburn

More Photos

del.icio.us/scottmark

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.

Site Meter

RSS Latest Runs

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Latest Routes

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

